The Booker Prize Challenge

So, I’ve decided to have a crack at a long held ambition, namely, to read all (or as many as possible) of the Booker Prize nominees, prior to the announcement of the winner on October 12th.

This may be something of a slog. The long list was announced under a week ago, and consists of 13 books, to be whittled down to 6 titles by September 7th. So, I can try for 13 in two months or six in one. The problem being that anything read now may not end up being short-listed, so any literary insiders who can give me a heads up on what’s likely to make the cut, I’d be in your debt.

I’m going to try and post a bit about each title as I finish it, and maybe some general issues to do with the prize itself too as it gets closer to the time. If anyone else is reading any of these books too, do get involved and let us know what you think.

Oh, yes, and some kind of festival appears to have begun in Edinburgh, if the glances out of my window are not very much mistaken. Maybe I’ll post some stuff about that too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Booker Prize Challenge

  1. I’ve only read Alan Warner’s “The Stars in the Bright Sky”, which I loved but couldn’t quite see why it had been nominated. I haven’t read it yet, but I hope Howard Jacobson’s “The Finkler Question” does well, because he’s hugely underrated as a writer.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

